Short Stuff

19/11/2013

 
So I was bored, right? (I mean, it’s normal, isn’t it?) So I decided to look up some different things about rubbish. Of course, that’s pretty much all I’ve been talking about. Well, that and Christmas. And, well, if you didn’t know, it’s getting closer (eyes stare up to the sky) it’s pretty exciting. (You know, that abashed? No, I have no idea what to call it. Well I was looking up stuff about polluting in our park and getting stuff in the creek can send it on it’s way to the ocean, and on a marinebio.org site, I found all these different clips about the ocean, the great pacific garbage patch and heaps of other stuff. And it was pretty interesting. Let’s keep it to the Great Pacific Garbage Patch. We’ve talked about that before, and I don’t worry! I remember that, the picture with the man who is rowing through the rubbish infested waters. Real neat.  But anyways, Charles Moore of the Algalita Marine Research Foundation who first discovered the Great Pacific Garbage Patch- which is an endless floating waste of plastic ‘trash’. And Charles Moore is drawing attention to the growing, choking, festering, disgusting plague of debris in our seas. Did you like that? I loved it. So dramatic. Haha. And it goes on (scroll down the page) and it says that about 20-22% of dredged material is dumped into the ocean. AND about 10% of all dredged material is polluted with heavy metals such as cadmium, mercury and chromium, hydrocarbons such as heavy oils, nutrients including phosphorous and nitrogen, and organochlorines from pesticides. Waterways and, therefore, silt and sand accumulate these toxins from land runoff, shipping practices, industrial and community waste, and other sources. When they go into the ocean, marine organisms suffer toxic effects and seafood is often contaminated. And wow, this is really bad. We eat seafood. Well, I don’t, not really. The most I like to eat is the crumbed fish. And fish, not so much, but I’d still eat it.  Prawns, I don’t like, they have beady eyes which creep me out. All other sea foods, please, just keep me away from it. So it seems like this is going to be a short blog, I will put the link in the ‘bibliography’ section. So I hope you have fun doing that, while I will try to find more ‘fun facts’ for you to learn about. Because we all love learning.

Until next time, stay green. 

Comments are closed.

    Author

    Natalie has an avid passion for reading and swimming. Every third Saturday of the month she dedicates to her local Bushcare group, to help take care of the environment.


    Archives

    November 2013
    October 2013


    Categories

    All