General Knowledge

22/11/2013

 

I did say I was going to do another part, wasn't I?

Since I’m doing a double today, I’m going to make it slightly shorter, here goes!

  • 80% of the world’s forests are gone
  • 2000 trees a minute are cut down in the Amazon alone. (That is 7 football fields a minute!) (Um, wow, that makes me kind of sick...Damn, I think I ate too many chips)
  • 40% of our waterways are undrinkable.
  • 75% of fisheries have been fished beyond capacity
  • 100,000 synthetic chemicals are used in production today.
  • Food with highest level of contaminants is mother’s milk.
  • 200,000 people a day are moving to cities from environments that no longer support them.
  • Average person consumes twice as much as 50 years ago.
  • We see more ads in one year than people 50 years ago saw in a lifetime. 3,000 ads a day! (Well, I don’t watch that much TV, so I’m kind of glad)
  • For every one garbage bin, you put out at the curb, 70 bins were filled by all the processes
  • 90% of all things that we buy are not in use after 6 months.
Okay, I know that was short. Short and sweet, I guess. :)

Until next time, stay green.  


Comments are closed.

    Author

    Natalie has an avid passion for reading and swimming. Every third Saturday of the month she dedicates to her local Bushcare group, to help take care of the environment.


    Archives

    November 2013
    October 2013


    Categories

    All