Bushcare

16/11/2013

 

Caring for the Bush even if it thinks it doesn't need our help

Picture
Okay, I haven’t been able to give a blog in the last few days because of my busy schedule (school, home, Home Ec assignment... sleep) so I’m going to try and make up for it. So today, I had bushcare,  and only got mildly eaten alive by mosquitos. But I found a couple of interesting ‘finds’. Turns out that there was two Pepsi cans, (Pepsi Max and normal Pepsi) and I also found a Dare Ice Coffee Mint Flavoured plastic container. With all three of those, I took them home with me. Unfortunately I didn’t get a picture of the Dare in it’s environment before bringing it home, but I managed to get the two cans in the bushes. (Taken on my dad’s phone, since I didn’t bring mine, and anyway, my phone has horrible camera quality. The few bad things about a Nokia.) I’ll give you the picture as well. And we did a fair bit of weeding,  my dad, Mrs Watson, my sister and me. (my other sister had a uni exam and my mum doesn’t do ‘bush’ she stays home with the cleaning instead) So we got a lot of work done, and we filled up four bags of just pure weeds. Yep, I think it might’ve been one bag each. Like, the big weed bags that you get on clean up Australia Day; that size one. And yes, I know, they’re big. But I (proudly have to say) that I filled up one of those. And during the midst of having people stop and talk to us (5 people, 2 dogs) The first dog was adorable, they were talking to us for a while, and it kept sniffing our weeds, but it was so cute and the man said it was only 12 weeks! And her fur was so soft and silky. One of the cutest dogs I’ve ever seen. They just aren’t very cute when they poo everywhere. Yeah, and there was fresh stuff on the side of the path... only slightly disgusting. (Who am I kidding? It was really gross.) But I don’t think the cute dog did it. But the family said they were moving down to Sydney because the man is in the army, and that was really sad, because that little puppy was ABSOLUTELY ADORABLE! Anyways, I am trying to plan this out so this ‘blog’ can last a little longer and make up for the other two days, but it’s a bit hard to do that, so I’m trying to think of other stuff environment related to talk about. I’m trying to type this with my tongue... super weird. Yeah, I thought I’d do something weird. Don’t ask why. Anyway, I was at bushcare, and there was only 4 people there. It’s getting kind of sad, since there used to be around 10 or 11 people going. But they are all getting old, or their health is deteriorating, and one man is 96 this year! I mean, he doesn’t do it anymore, but it was still pretty cool at the time. Because I think he was in his late 80s early 90s when my family started going. And another man has had a triple bypass... wow, he’s strong, but he can’t come any more. So usually, most of my blogs only goes for about 500 words. But this time I’m determined to make this different. Well, actually, my sister’s friend goes sometimes, but she lives I don’t know where, a while away, and she has to come all the way over to our park to do bushcare, but honestly, you just have to ring and ask the council if you can start up a bushcare group somewhere, and you’re set. It’s pretty awesome like that. I don’t think I’d want to be in charge of that type of thing, but I’d definitely be involved with it. It makes you really aware of different weeds, and what’s happening in your local areas. And I’m proud to be a part of that, because we are trying to undo what others inflict upon the environment. And that’s something pretty special. So there you have it, I have made it past 700 words. No, exactly 708 words. Including the bottom stuff, it is 731 words. (including the rest of what I’m writing)

Until next time, stay green.  This was a special edition of environmental blog. :)


Comments are closed.

    Author

    Natalie has an avid passion for reading and swimming. Every third Saturday of the month she dedicates to her local Bushcare group, to help take care of the environment.


    Archives

    November 2013
    October 2013


    Categories

    All